Australia imposed sanctions against Gazprom, Transneft and Russian Railways

Australia imposed sanctions against Gazprom, Transneft and Russian Railways

Times Read: 383 Comments: 0

In total, 13 legal entities were under restrictions. The Australian authorities have already included Russians and companies in the list of sanctions several times

The Australian authorities have included 13 Russian legal entities in the sanctions list, follows from a document published on the government website.

In particular, the sanctions included:


Novorossiysk Commercial Sea Port,


United Shipbuilding Corporation,






Gazprom Neft,





Australia has already introduced restrictions against Russians and companies several times. Thus, the authorities banned President Vladimir Putin, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu, Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin and others from entering the country.

The National Wealth Fund of Russia and the Ministry of Finance, as well as Sberbank, Gazprombank, VEB.RF, VTB, Rosselkhozbank, Sovcombank, Novikombank, Alfa-Bank and Moscow Credit Bank were subject to restrictive measures.

In addition, businessmen Oleg Deripaska, Viktor Vekselberg, Roman Abramovich, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Gazprom Alexei Miller, CEO of Rostec Sergey Chemezov and others were sanctioned. The restrictions affected Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova, press secretary of Russian President Dmitry Peskov , TV presenter Vladimir Solovyov. They are denied entry and their assets in the country will be frozen.

In addition, the country banned the export to Russia of wines, works of art, tobacco products, truffles, thoroughbred horses, pearls, and caviar. The ban was imposed on the export of household appliances, furs, carpets, tapestries, eau de toilette and cosmetics, watches, handbags for more than $500, as well as motorcycles, mopeds and bicycles for more than $7.5 thousand.

In response to "unfriendly" actions, the Russian Foreign Ministry banned the entry of 228 Australians, including the country's leadership. The restrictions affected, in particular, Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Interior Minister Karen Andrews, Treasury Secretary Saima Birmingham, Defense Secretary Peter Dutton, Foreign Secretary Maryse Payne. The Australian government is "ready to support any action aimed at containing Russia," the Russian Foreign Ministry said.

Tags: Politics


Write Comment